Lee Bariatrics Patient Reviews

Individual patient results vary. Discuss with your physician your specific options.

Read more stories @ www.obesityhelp.com

Read Reviews of Lee Bariatrics on Obesity Help

OMG! Dr. Lee! This guy is more than a a God send! He is absolutely amazing and words can not express how grateful I am that he has changed my life for the better. I honestly feel that he is simply the best bariatric surgeon and needs his own TV show ASAP. Within the first five minutes of meeting and talking with him, I knew that I was going to be in good hands. He gave me straight forward and clear answers; even when I asked super dumb questions he still answered them with a smile. The day of surgery he reassured me that everything was going to be fine and go smoothly and it did! Even though he is no longer in the DFW area I would still recommend him to anyone who is considering WLS because he is worth the drive. He will always be my number one doctor (yes, even over the doctor who delivered me lol) Thanks Dr. Lee, you’re too awesome (sorry for rambling, words just can’t express my happiness)
I was so surprised how approachable he is and how he made me feel like my time was more valuable than his. I have never met a doctor let alone a bariatric surgeon who is so easy to get in touch with. He is confident, courteous, brutally honest without sugarcoating and I trusted him with my life and I couldn’t have been happier.
“As former Director of one of the largest bariatric centers in the U.S., Dr. Lee has a great reputation for taking care of complicated revisions and fixing other people’s complications, but these are the behind the scenes skills that we don’t necessarily appreciate as patients. His bedside manners are impeccable and his sense of humor really made me comfortable and confident. It’s pleasantly surprising to say that he made me feel that he was my own personal doctor and he was there for me in every step of the process before and after surgery.
“I also got a great motivator and coach when I trusted Dr. Lee to be my surgeon. Surgery was the easiest part. He made it clear that it would only be the first step. Once he got me through the operation, his clever ideas and tips and his personal approach to weight loss made reaching my goals attainable. He was truly invested in my success.”
I was on medication for hypertension and my Primary Care Dr. wanted to start a regimen of diabetic medication due to my Hemoglobin A1c reading of 7 (high) blood testing . With my family history of obesity, diabetes and heart problems, I wanted to be pro-active in prevention. I attended an in-service offered by Dr. Lee. It was very thorough, explaining all of the options offered for weight reduction and how each option worked in the body.Dr. Lee and his staff are wonderful. I was impressed with the detailed dietary instructional counseling sessions prior to my surgery (Gastric Sleeve). It prepared me for the post surgery period and gave me the tools needed to be successful. I consider my surgery a success. I am off of hypertensive medications and my blood sugar was under control very quickly. This prevented me from starting oral Diabetic medications. Bottom line…Dr. Lee, his staff and the surgery saved my life. In 10 months I have lost almost 60 pounds and will continue to lose more staying with my diet and exercise regimen. THANK YOU DR. LEE FOR SAVING MY LIFE IN A HEALTHY WAY.
Dec. 18, 2014
Dr. Michael Lee and has staff started my new life journey. I had a vertical gastric sleeve on February 28, 2012 at St. Paul Hospital in Dallas, TX. I would do it all over again. Now it hasn’t been an easy journey but it definitely has been well worth it. Dr. Lee has called and emailed me several times after all my visits with his group. From the PA, dietitian, PhD, and nurses I was prepared. You have to have a good mindset and realize that Dr. Lee and his group are there to help and they really do but you have to want this for the long haul. It is easy at first as your stomach won’t handle much but you can force it to grow and eat more.I absolutely would use Dr. Lee again to perform the surgery. His bedside manner and the time he will take to discuss things with you help to make my mind up and I haven’t regretted using him.
Dec. 18, 2014
I just celebrated two years post surgery (Dec 2012). Still today, the best decision I have ever made for ME! Dr. Michael Lee certainly did an outstanding job throughout the entire process. His staff helps you through the process and were always available for guidance along the way. I feel better than I have in years and have completely been removed from all medications from prior to surgery. Thank you Dr. Lee and everyone else at UT Southwestern who made this a fantastic experience for me and gave me my life back!
Dec. 15, 2014
Dr. Michael Lee of UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas did an outstanding job. Surgery and the postoperative period all went extremely well, much better than I expected. Dr. Lee painted a realistic picture of outcomes expectations, and emphasized that surgery was only a tool. The rest was up to me to commit to eat healthy food and exercise. The hospital staff were all extremely efficient and caring. Since surgery I’ve lost over 60 pounds. I have so much more energy and no longer have to take insulin. Would do this again in a heart beat!
Dec. 15, 2014
Dr. Lee and his team prep patients well for weight loss surgery and form relationships with their patients. Dr. Lee is the kind of doctor who does not rush through to the next patient, but rather spends significant time with each patient in both pre-op and post-op appointments to ensure patients have all questions and concerns addressed. Highly qualified and sought after, UT Southwestern invited him back to head the bariatric program. He practices out of a major medical school campus hospital and is connected to the most recent research in his field. UT Southwestern is a teaching institution, so, while an inpatient, there are a number of interns, residents and other medical staff who round on patients. He has a great sense of humor and his professionalism is exceptional. His technique is great as I experienced no pain once discharged from the hospital. While pain medication was prescribed for me following my discharge from the hospital, it was not needed. Additionally, the clinic is highly accessible when questions arise. My experience with Dr. Lee and VSG has been great so far!
Nov. 27, 2014
He’s a no non-sense surgeon that is pretty up front. He likes to use metaphors to explain his points. Like view my surgery as I’m about to jump in a UFC ring and it’s really important that I’m prepared physically and mentally for it! He’s been doing this awhile, so he definitely is not a newbie at this. So don’t let his young looks fool you. Yep, I most definitely would recommend him as your surgeon.
June 8, 2014
I was skeptical about Dr. Lee at first because I don’t see a lot of commercials about him. He also looks really young, so I did my homework and googled everything I could find about him. All my doubts were reversed when I met him in person. I was so surprised at how approachable he is and how he made me feel like my time was more valuable than his. I have never met a doctor let alone a bariatric surgeon who is so easy to get in touch with. He is confident, courteous, brutally honest without sugarcoating and I trusted him with my life and I couldn’t have been happier. He is also a funny cool guy. He removed my lap band and did a revision to a lap gastric bypass and a hiatal hernia repair. Dr. Lee and he explained to me that no two patients are alike and that this revision would specifically be better for me because of that hiatal hernia and my heartburn. He told me what I needed to hear and not what I wanted to hear. He has good staff too. Anna is the coordinator who helps him and I met Bonnie and Taylor the dieticians who told me how to prepare for surgery. I liked the nurses in the office and hospital too. Katie was my nurse and she took great care of me. I felt like I was in a first class place. I had surgery through a couple of small cuts and went home in 2 days and back to work in 2 weeks. NO COMPLICATIONS! Everything went as expected as he told me things would go. Everyone treated me like a person and not a dollar sign with arms and legs. My insurance covered everything except my deductible and I didn’t get fooled with a large bill. These are honest people who work for him. My heart doc is in the same building and he says that Dr. Lee has a great reputation for taking care of complicated revisions and fixing other people’s complications. I am so amazed that I was lucky enough to have trusted Dr. Lee to change my life for all the better. I’m just glad that he won’t be retiring soon! He is AMAZING!
Pros: Excellent bedside manners. He sees all of his patients in the hospital and after. Big plus. Went through preapproval so insurance was no hassle
Cons: Hospital is old, my room was small, residents woke me up at 6am
May 15, 2014

Individual patient results vary. Discuss with your physician your specific options.

Read more stories @ www.obesityhelp.com

Read Reviews of Lee Bariatrics on Obesity Help